Sex crimes are punishable under both California and federal law. Depending on several factors, sexual assault crimes may fall under misdemeanor or felony classifications. In California, there is no longer a statute of limitations in criminal cases. Victims of rape are able to pursue justice and compensation through a civil claim. In California, anyone who has been a victim of sexual violence or assault may file a civil claim for damages.

Types of Sexual Assault

  • Rape and attempted rape
  • Forced sexual acts of any nature
  • Grouping and unwanted touching
  • Any unwanted penetration of the victim
  • Sexual abuse
  • Sexual exploitation

There are several warning signs of sexual assault and it is crucial to spot them. Some signs may be that a friend or loved one has a sudden change in behavior or inexplicable injuries and medical symptoms. They may feel uneasy or intimidated about speaking to others. Someone else may be threatening the victim to not speak. 

If you have been a victim of sexual assault, you need to report it immediately. Time is a factor when it comes to preserving evidence. Biological evidence gathered from the victims body, clothing, and personal belonging can help bring the offender to justice.